If an application is accessing the device while you
are trying to start the "safely remove hardware" procedure,
the system will show this message to avoid losing data. To enable a
succesfull removal, just close all applications that are related to the
drive, such as for example Explorer, Media Player which might be playing
files directly from the device...etc.